WEAR/REVIEW/THOUGHTS: UPDATE ON THE LIPKITS

kylie-over-pic the-four swatches

Thought I decided to do an update of my Lipkit opinion.

I still love them but there are negative opinions. When swatching I wiped the wand across the five times. I purposely didn’t want to try to make it “perfect”.

I technically purchased five but I have to be honest I got rid of Kourt K. I didn’t want to but I hated the formula. If you are curious, read this post about my opinion about Kourt K.

I created a scale from 1-4 to rate the four Lipkits in different categories I thought was note rating. I’ll elaborate under the numbers.

Dry Time:

  1. Mary Jo K
  2. Posie K
  3. Candy K
  4. Leo

Mary Jo dries the quickest out of the four. I am not surprised that Leo took the longest because of it the darker shade. I am surprised that Candy had taken just slightly longer to dry compared to Posie.

Formula Wear:

  1. Mary Jo K
  2. Candy K
  3. Leo
  4. Posie K

Mary Jo is the easiest to wear (formula and fade). At times, I would forget. Candy, I can slightly feel but I’m always cautious for some reason when I eat and drink. Leo, I definitely feel I am wearing. It’s pretty thick but not like Kourt. Ah! I loved the look of Kourt. Posie wears as a thicker formula.

Patchy Application:

  1. Leo
  2. Posie
  3. Candy
  4. Mary Jo

Leo does apply slightly patchy. It is easy to fix. I do carefully blot with a tissue after a few minutes after application. Or do Kylie’s recommendation of carefully using your finger tip and pat the lipstick in. Shade does matter Leo is harder to do but I tried that trick with Posie. Better result but a pain to wash off. Mary Jo is easy just swipe, wait a few seconds and then go about your day.

Formula Application:

  1. Candy K & Posie K
  2. Mary Jo K
  3. Leo

Candy and Posie applies thin almost like water. You can see in the picture how easy and smooth the swatches for Candy and Posie. I used to think Mary Jo was like that but once I was swatching this time around it’s a different feel. Leo just felt thicker.

Soft:

  1. Posie K
  2. Candy K
  3. Mary Jo K
  4. Leo

Not sure if this category makes sense. I am sure in general liquid lipsticks have that soft velvety feel. When swatching interestingly enough Mary Jo doesn’t feel like anything once it’s first applied and dried. Leo has no velvety feel. Posie and Candy felt super soft.

Tackiness:

  1. Mary Jo K
  2. Candy K
  3. Leo
  4. Posie K

Whatever the formula for Mary Jo was on the March 12th release is my favorite! I am not sure it is because of the color or just the liquid lipstick formula back then. I know her formula has changed once or twice since that lip kit launch. I know eventually I want to order Mary Jo however I am terrified that the formula is not going to be as fantastic as I think of the one I have. Anyways! Candy doesn’t feel tacky until later, if I remember correctly. Posie dries with a little tacky. Leo is slightly tacky but not uncomfortable to wear.

Rub:

  1. Posie K
  2. Candy K
  3. Mary Jo K
  4. Leo

After watching the four lipsticks I started to rub to see which bleed first. (That is such a weird phrase.) I judged by looking which color bled past the swatches. Shockingly Posie was the hardest to rub off. Leo was the easiest, not surprised because of the dark color.

 

Washability:

  1. Candy K
  2. Leo
  3. Mary Jo K
  4. Posie K

Candy was the first to wash off and Posie was the hardest.

Fade From Wearing:

  1. Mary Jo K
  2. Candy K
  3. Posie K
  4. Leo

Mary Jo has the best fade away for me. Candy is alright. Posie, not so good and it fades in the center. Leo can be patchy when it fades way. It doesn’t necessarily fade right in the center.

My Favorite to Wear:

  1. Mary Jo K
  2. Candy K
  3. Leo
  4. Posie K

Mary Jo is easiest one to grab and use for more everyday look. Candy is good but I have to be in the mood to wear that shade. Leo is becoming one of my favorites! Can’t replace my love for Mary Jo but maybe switches places with Candy. Leo’s downsides are more seasonal color and takes longer to apply since it’s a darker color. Aka easier to see mistakes. Posie wears weird on me. I saw on the Kylie Cosmetic’s Instagram one time of ombre Candy in the center and Posie on the outside. Posie’s formula is wears tacky/thick. I never wear Posie on its own.

Leave a Reply

